#InCaseYouMissedIt: #SeenOnAWallNearYou Series: On #Tone, #Courtesy, #CommonSense – and #Google Searches as responses

10 Jan

  • Cristinella Bella
    Has anyone else ever tried to initiate conversation with someone only to be
    met by the answer: Google it. Seriously, If someone responds that way,
    is it an insult, cause I kind of feel insulted.

Credit: https://i2.wp.com/images4.pocket-lint.com/images/qMTt/google-doodle-wallace-gromit-birthday-0.jpg

Socially Interacting - with People, PEEEEOPLE!!! Puhleeze!... where are your manners!

Yesterday at 3:19pm · Comment

You like this.
Francisco Jose Palacio

Francisco Jose Palacio

Hmmmm…Yes and no; thing is, it’s a tab away!

Sometimes
we post stuff, that may be obscure (yeah, guilty as charged) and
sometimes it feels that sometimes not everyone is aware of how much
BETTER a conversation would be if the research was done before hand……

… not that it’s NOT rude, but perhaps a new way of communicating in these ‘halls’, so to speak?

Candidly

A Google-ator
Searching for Conversation since The Remotest Past

Yesterday at 3:25pm ·
Cristinella Bella

Cristinella Bella

Understandable,
but if the question is made so as to elicit a person’s personal
opinion, the subject matter of which you are both personably
knowledgeable, the person being asked the question is being rude if
they tell you to google it.Or maybe the person isn’t as knowledgable as you thought they were.

Yesterday at 3:29pm
Francisco Jose Palacio

Francisco Jose Palacio

@ CBDefinitely; and as many say, the problem with CMAC-driven communication, is the lack of ‘tone’

And
yeah, some of us may be acting rudely dissmissive; yet, for example,
there’s a bunch of my friends, that for example, keep buggin’ me about
translatin’ what I do here in THEIR language; others, bug me about them
being sometimes in three or more languages…

So if I tell them to go to Google Translate more than once, am I being rude?

See the dilemma?

And
again, as I said earlier: it’s a tab away; I for one, if the synopsis
that is attached to the posting is not enough, given time – and
resources; i.e. sometimes Googling on a phone is painstaking – I will
Google before asking; others? I’ll be on the receiving end, with the
interlocutor on the other end glaring at me, as though we all had the
time, disposition and context to understand everythin’ they’re postin’!

So I think it’s a matter of common sense and courtesy, perhaps? specially when we’re ALL ‘tone-deaf’ in this place?

Credit: https://i2.wp.com/www.babyhearing.org/images/HearingAmp/Choices/hearing_aid.jpg

Tone deafness? May want to review your manners, too!

[ADJUSTS THE PROVERBIAL HEARING AID]

Si?

Ci vedeamo!

[GRINS]

P.S:
BTW, would it be Ok. if I edited this exchange (and what I hope is to
follow) on my blog? it’s precisely centered on the challenges of
computer-mediated communications… Let me know!

Again, salute!

Yesterday at 4:02pm ·
Francisco Jose Palacio

Francisco Jose Palacio

Short version?”there are NO stupid questions” ~ Anonymous!

[WINK’N’GRIN]

Yesterday at 4:03pm ·
Cristinella Bella

Cristinella Bella

Sure,
just send me a link to the blog so I can enjoy reading the fruits of a
conversation. If I could read the entry first, post-editing just so my
perspective is kept in context, if included in anyway, that would be
grand.What does CMAC stand for?

I do wonder tho, for as
many people that ask you to simply translate what you are posting, how
many people on facebook and/or other applications are intuitive enough
to understand what you are doing and ask questions that cause you to
stop and reflect upon some questions in a way that google cannot answer?…

Also,
I must comment on the content that results from a google search. For
instance, I recently google’d The SanRemo Music Festival. I did this
search despite knowing full well that my friend, here on facebook,
Franco Corso, could provide me with firsthand information that would be
exactly the kind of answers I was looking for about SanRemo.

At
the risk of putting myself in a vulnerable position in which my
feelings may have gotten hurt by his lack of response, I googled, and,
of course, the first result was Wikipedia.

There are a lot of
people who have junked up Wikipedia. So, if a person tells me to google
a question, are they purposefully leading me towards false information?

Yesterday at 4:14pm
Cristinella Bella

Cristinella Bella

I know there are no stupid questions, except for the questions that are asked in attempt to make a person look stupid.As I grow older and realize the more I learn the less I know, I am
getting better at giving stupid responses to those kinds of questions.

Yesterday at 4:17pm
Francisco Jose Palacio

Francisco Jose Palacio

@CBEdits?

Credit: https://i2.wp.com/www.mikeharding.co.uk/other/banjo.jpg

... And yeah, sometimes it's worth to go 'head over heels' for the sake of keeping people engaged in your 'performance'

Not really; once I get permission, as the Clipboardist that I am, I merely move these -as-is/verbatim- over to the blog….


Hence
no need to worry about revisions; it’s as fresh as it was here – and we
‘preserve’ these good conversations, as I understand these are one of
the few items that FB actually ‘shreds’ (I mean, how far back can we go
on the wall? have not checked lately, but a few iterations ago, it was
about 60 to 45 days at the most; hence the start of the series, yadda,
yadda, yadda)That said, your last two entries are 100%
copacetic with the entirety of the thread, and yes, illustrate the
‘Fuzzy Logic” that accompanies live in the Cloud Computing.

CMAC?

Check
this FB Group out; I’ve been researching it for a few years, and have
made it the foundation of the business I recently started.

Most of the links are either academic (proven sources/whitepapers/research papers) or when they come out on e-zines or magazines, I’ve tried to keep them as ‘valid’ as any.

http://groups.to/CMAC

… Grazie!… I will come back and preserve this thread in a bit, hafta complete some event coverage from last night.

Ciao!

2 hours ago ·
Francisco Jose Palacio

Francisco Jose Palacio

@ CBHere’s one of the latest ones, on FB, so you can check out the ‘format’ as well

http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=261260335358See More

I also ‘tagged’ you so you could find it – and tie the note onto the tread, perhaps?

2 hours ago ·
Cristinella Bella

Cristinella Bella

Cool. You have my permission
55 minutes ago
Francisco Jose Palacio

Francisco Jose Palacio

[THUMBS UP!][COOOOOOOPIES… PAAAAASTES…. DONE!]

8 minutes ago ·
