Actionables – on #Discrete #Math’s Class’ Takeaways

3 Jun

Me?

(Beside the Corpus we’re about to dissect as a team, of course?)

THE WHOLE ENCHILADA!

Meaning: yes, it’s been arduous to say the least – individuals have been akin to a “walk through the valley of the shadows of middle school”… as yeah, it’d been nice if I had PAID attention way back when (although most of my ‘tutors’ admit to the fact that this class is WAY out there in content/complexity!) so that it’d all make more ‘sense’

That said –

Yes, the DQ’s when the ‘dots’ finally connected… the pieces fell into place… the ‘theory’ found a way to escape into ‘real world applications’, those I’d say validate the value of the class.

As after all, as they taught me at The Art Institute: “You should only break the rules – once you’ve mastered them”

So what are these rules we’re defining here?

Obviously, this is the domain of the Left Hemisphere (have I mentioned “Drawing on The Right Side of The Brain” already?… hope I have!… ) and yes, Proofs, Work, Rules and overall feedback is what we want to see – lest the bridge were to fall, the insurance not be underwritten, and yes, the derivatives of our current economic system were to fall apart (at that, anyone watched “Margin Call” with Quinto, Spacey, Irons?… hehehe!)

So was I able to figure out, that after all, there’s been a proverbial ‘method to the madness’… yes!

… and you can take that to the bank!

Breadcrumbs?

Bingo!


“That’s why I’m telling everyone about one of the most brilliant books I’ve ever read, Understanding Comics by Scott McCloud* (and why I’m reading his Making Comics, even though I don’t even like comics).

I’ve always been fascinated by how readers’ understanding of information can be shaped by presentation. In Power Money Fame Sex: A User’s Guide, I used tip lists, boxes, font changes, boxed quotations, photographs, all sorts of elements to make my information memorable.”

http://www.happiness-project.com/happiness_project/2007/04/what_i_learned_/


Read the first one… amongst the art school’s library stacks – whilst playing librarian… MIND blowing!… as McCloud it’s NOT talking about Comics – but about communication, graphics, gestalt… Shapes!

(Have I even mentioned Monsieur Bezier here?)(THAT’s a LOT of math!)

Might as well, right?

Magnifique!


(PLENTY of MTH221 to go around, right?)

The Bézier curve always passes through the first and last control points and lies within the convex hull of the control points. The curve is tangent to P_1-P_0 and P_n-P_(n-1) at the endpoints. The “variation diminishing property” of these curves is that no line can have more intersections with a Bézier curve than with the curve obtained by joining consecutive points with straight line segments. A desirable property of these curves is that the curve can be translated and rotated by performing these operations on the control points.

So how does the beam intersect with the columns?... and rises to the sky?... do the math, man!

So how does the beam intersect with the columns?… and rises to the sky?… do the math, man!

http://mathworld.wolfram.com/BezierCurve.html


and so on and so forth… so NO I’m not a mathematician – but I enjoy what they’ve given us, and I’m pretty sure somehow in the recesses of my synapses connections are made an an underlying level that perhaps, help connect all these ‘dots’

Ciao!

